News & Photos - Media Hub - McDonogh School

News & Photos

Three Fall Teams Earn Championship Titles

McDonogh’s fall sports teams performed well throughout the 2023 season, with several earning their way into the championship rounds of play. Congratulations to all the athletes, coaches, and fans for their sportsmanship throughout the season, and thanks to the Cheer-Dance squad for boosting enthusiasm on the sidelines. Below are the varsity season outcomes for teams that advanced to the championship rounds.

Girls Tennis: For the third consecutive year, the girls varsity tennis team was IAAM A Conference champions. See photos here. Congratulations to the team and the All- Conference players (singles) Annie Nemoy ‘25 and Leila Khoury ‘25, (doubles) Vicky Seaman ‘24 / Navia Vohra ‘24, and Drew LaBorwit ‘24/Sophie Abrams ‘24.

Girls Cross Country: After a 7-3 season, the girls Cross Country team ran away with their third straight IAAM A Conference title at the Shawan Downs course in Cockeysville on Tuesday, October 24. Read about the championship race and their season. Watch the race and view photos. Congratulations to Mary Gorsky ‘24 who earned All-Conference honors.

Girls Soccer: On the heels of an undefeated season, the girls soccer team, entered the final game of the championships as the favorite. They didn’t disappoint and on Saturday, November 4, brought home the crown after besting Archbishop Spalding 6-1. Read more here. Congratulations to Sabba Haghgoo '24, Gracie Salais '24, Kate Levy '24, and Elle Long '24 on being named to the All-Conference team. Additional congratulations to Harry Canellakis who was selected by his peers as the 2023 IAAM Women's Soccer Coach of the Year.

Field Hockey: Congratulations to Jaden Dahan '24 who was named to the All-Conference team.

Boys Soccer: Congratulations to All-Conference players Jason Broome '25, Kobe Keomany '24, Emmet Kershner '24, and Blake Lloyd '25.

Water Polo: Congratulations to Alexander North '24 who was named to the All-Conference team.

Football: After beating Gilman in the 107th game of the rivalry (see photos), the Eagles advanced to the title game against Archbishop Spalding in the MIAA A Conference championships.

Congratulations to the All-Conference players: Elijah Crawford '25, Jeff Exinor '25, Brandon Finney '25, Kamden Laudenslager '25, Noah Onkst '24, Braeden Palazzo'26, and Anthony Redfern '25.