Upper School - Ways to Visit - McDonogh School

Upper School

Open House

Families of prospective Upper School students are invited to our Fall Open House on Sunday, October 27, 2019 at 3:00 p.m.

This is your chance to:

  • Speak with students, teachers, and administrators.
  • Learn about the Upper School's academic, art, and athletic offerings.
  • Take a student-led tour of classrooms, studios, and athletic facilities.
  • Discover why our students, faculty, and parents say, "There's No Place Like McDonogh."

No preregistration is required for this event. From the Lamborn Road entrance to campus, parking is available in the Woods Lot adjacent to the Naylor Building.
 

Upper School Campus Tours

For those who cannot attend an open house, hour-long tours will be available this fall. Dates are listed below.  All tours begin in the Admissions Office.  

To register please click here.

Tour Dates:
Friday, November 15, 2019 - 9:00 a.m.
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 - 1:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 1:00 p.m.
Friday, November 22, 2019 - 9:00 a.m.

Upper School Shadow Day Visits

To experience McDonogh first-hand, prospective students can spend the day visiting academic and arts classes with an Upper School guide. All visitors are hosted in their current grade except ninth grade applicants who will visit with the ninth grade. Shadow Day visits are an optional piece of the application process.

Shadow Day visits run from 7:45 a.m. until 3:15 p.m. If your child is spending the day with us, we will set up his or her admissions interview during the visit day. It is important that we get to know your child and give him or her the opportunity to ask questions regarding McDonogh.

The dates for 2019-2020 Shadow Day visits:
Wednesday, October 2
Tuesday, October 8
Friday, October 11
Tuesday, October 15
Thursday, October 17
Monday, October 21
Thursday, October 24
Wednesday, November 6
Friday, November 8
Tuesday, November 12
Thursday, November 14
Monday, November 18
Wednesday, November 20
Wednesday, December 4
Friday, December 6
Monday, December 9
Wednesday, December 11
Monday, December 16
Tuesday, January 7
Thursday, January 9
Monday, January 13
Wednesday, January 15
Friday, January 17

Parent interviews are not required but are welcome and offered at 8:30 a.m., 9:15 a.m., and 2:45 p.m. on Shadow Days.

In order to ensure that we best meet the needs of prospective students, we require each applicant to complete the online application prior to scheduling a shadow day visit.

After completing the application form, you may sign up online or call 443-544-7020 to reserve a place for a Shadow Day visit. We will do our best to accommodate your request for a date.