News & Photos - Media Hub - McDonogh School

News & Photos

Championship Titles for Girls Track, Boys Lacrosse

Despite the rainy season, excitement filled the air during spring sports competitions. The fans in the stands including students, parents, and teachers showed their support for the athletes on the fields, courts, and tracks, creating palpable energy and school spirit. Congratulations to all the athletes and coaches. The following teams scored big this season:

Girls Track and Field: The girl’s team didn’t lose steam after their title win in the winter, and left it all on the track at the two-day championship meet on Wednesday, May 8 and Saturday, May 11. The team charged ahead of their closest rival, Archbishop Spalding, to earn the IAAM title. See the highlights from the IAAM in this story: McDonogh School captures the 2024 IAAM Track and Field Championships.

Boys Lacrosse: The Varsity Boys Lacrosse team returned to the MIAA A Conference championship and took on Boys’ Latin in an electrifying fight for the title on Friday, May 17 at Navy-Marine Corp Stadium in Annapolis. Through their unwavering dedication, preparedness, and commitment to the sport, the Eagles were victorious, winning 14-12. The team was not only thrilled to win one for their seniors but also to make history, earning the championship title for the third year in a row. Read the story from the MIAA, McDonogh lacrosse gets it done, again, for all the highlights.

Boys Tennis: Several Eagles captured titles in the MIAA individual tournament including the #3 singles player Landon Tamaddon '26, the #1 doubles team of Spencer Park '25 and Nathan Huang '26, and #2 doubles team Max Antwerpen '24 and Devesh Cherukuri '26.

Other teams in contention for their league’s championship titles were Varsity Baseball, Boys Tennis, Girls Varsity Lacrosse, and Softball.

All-Conference Titles
Congratulations to the following student-athletes who were recognized by their leagues.

Lacrosse: Kit Laake ’26, Amanda Lawson ’24, and Kate Levy ’24*
Softball: Neera Gandhi ’24 and Bridget Schaeffer ’26
Track and Field: Caroline Birdsall ’25, Kelsey Coley ’25, Ella Cooper ’24, Elena Cooper ’25, Elise Cooper  ’25, Clara Dawn ’24, Mary Gorsky ’24, Morgan Heard ’25, Julia Norris ’25, and Emnet Tesfayohannes ’27

*Also named USA Lacrosse Mid-Atlantic Girls’ Player of the Year

Baseball: Jackson Hortiz ’27, Andy Lambert ’27, and Santino Sanchez ’24 
Golf: Owen McKinnel ’24 
Lacrosse: Max Allen ’24, Ben Firlie ’24, Luke Miller ’24*, Brendan Millon ’25**, and Aidan Seibel ’25 (MIAA Player of the Year)
Tennis: Max Antwerpen ’24, Devesh Cherikuri ’26, Nathan Huang ’26, Spencer Park ’25, and Landon Tammadon ’26

*Also named Baltimore Sun Player of the Year
**Also named USA Lacrosse Mid-Atlantic Boys’ Player of the Year 

Contributing writer: Cate Hardin '23